News release - 4/24/2014

Published 4/24/2014 (all press releases for this day)

Jeri Williams
Chief of Police
Oxnard Police Department

R. Jason Benites
Assistant Chief

Scott Whitney
Assistant Chief



EVENT: Kiwanis Club of Oxnard and the Oxnard Police Department recognize Officer Mike Wood as Officer of the Year, and other award recipients 
DATE/TIME: 4-24-14 1200 hours
LOCATION: Tower Club, 500 Esplanade Road 
PREPARED BY: Miguel Lopez, Community Affairs Manager 
Miguel Lopez, Community Affairs Manager 805-385-7631

DETAILS: The Kiwanis Club of Oxnard presented the 46th Annual Police Officer of the Year and Employee Awards Luncheon this afternoon at the Tower Club in Oxnard. 

During the ceremony, Officer Mike Wood was recognized as the Oxnard Police Officer of the Year for his extraordinary and exemplary service to our department and community. Since given the position as the POII assigned to District 4, spanning south Oxnard, Officer Wood has demonstrated full-confidence in his approach to make sound decisions and in his leadership ability – a great asset to any organization.
Aside from his duties as a District Officer, Officer Wood is a member of the Oxnard Police Hostage Negotiation Team, a Field Training Officer, First Aid Instructor, and an Associate Oxnard Police Explorer Advisor. He was a catalyst and co-writer for the Oxnard Police Explorer Academy, which was recognized as one of the best Academies with the Boys Scouts of America.  He is not only a great leader, but also a great role model.
Also recognized at the event were Senior Officer and Detective Juanita Suarez, Officer Scott Matalon, and Senior Officer and Detective Dale McAlpine who were Officer of the Year Nominees and received Community Service Awards from Kiwanis of Oxnard.
Other officers and civilian staff recognized at the Awards Luncheon include:
  • Nephthys Evans, Civilian Employee of the Year
  • Sergeant Sharon Giles, Supervisor of the Year
  • Lori Shank, Dispatcher of the Year
  • Bev Cripps, Volunteer of the Year /Clancy Nieland Award
  • Sergeant Brett Smith and Detective Terrance S. Dobrosky, both recipients of the Chief’s Award of Excellence
  • Officer Derek Miller, MADD/DUI Award
  • Officer Steve Eckman, Officer Jared Battles, Officer Matthew Ross, Officer Michael Gens, Officer Roque Rivera, Officer Derek Stephens, Officer Charles Buttell, and Officer Patrick Blanche with the 10851 (Stolen Vehicle) Award
  • Officers Edward Baldwin, Officer Moses Martinez, Officer Martin Perez, and Officer Roque Rivera, Medals of Merit  
“Our community is safer and stronger because of these extraordinary individuals who have chosen careers in public safety.   I want to thank the men and women of the Oxnard Police Department - our sworn and civilian staff - who recognize that what they do is more than a job, it is public service,” said Oxnard Police Chief Jeri Williams.
  DATE / TIME PREPARED:  4-24-14 1830 hours

Press release archive


Recent press releases

»News release - 9/25/2016 - Shooting Victim
- Sep 25, 2016
»News release - 9/23/2016
- Sep 23, 2016
»News release - Woman stabs her boyfriend during argument
- Sep 22, 2016
»News release - Helps Us Identify Fumigation Burglary Suspects
- Sep 22, 2016
»News release - 9/22/2016 Stabbing
- Sep 22, 2016
»News release - Oxnard Police use new DNA Technology to Assist in Homicide Case - 9/20/2016
- Sep 20, 2016
»News release - 9/18/2016
- Sep 18, 2016
»News release - 9/16/2016 Traffic Stop Leads to Arrests for Possession of Handgun and Narcotics
- Sep 16, 2016
»News release - 9/16/2016
- Sep 16, 2016
»News release - Man Barricades Himself in Home After Assaulting Officer
- Sep 15, 2016
   Apr 2014