Press release - Oxnard Police Department Employee Recognition Awards Luncheon

Published 3/3/2011 (all press releases for this day)

Jeri Williams
Chief of Police
Oxnard Police Department

R. Jason Benites
Assistant Chief

Scott Whitney
Assistant Chief



INCIDENT: Oxnard Police Department Employee Recognition Awards Luncheon
DATE/TIME: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 12:00 P.M.
LOCATION: Courtyard by Marriott, 600 Esplanade Drive, Oxnard
Awards Presented: Police Officer of the Year
Civilian Employee of the Year
Supervisor of the Year
M.A.D.D. Award
Dispatcher of the Year
10851 Awards
Chief’s Award of Excellence
Volunteer of the Year/Clancy Nieland Award
Medal of Merit
PREPARED BY: Commander Scott Hebert


The Kiwanis Club of Oxnard is pleased to once again host the Oxnard Police Department Employee Recognition Awards Luncheon at 12:00 P.M. on Thursday, March 24, 2011. The public is invited but reservations for the event are required. Tickets are $25 per person and can be paid for at the door. Space is limited! To reserve your seat, please call Patti McKenzie at (805) 385-8296 or email her at
During this ceremony, Oxnard’s 43rd Police Officer of the Year will be announced. The nominees are: 

  • Officer Roger Ramirez
  • Senior Officer Luis McArthur
  • Officer Roger Garcia
  • Officer Gordon Currie

The criteria for Oxnard Police Officer of the Year are:
  1. Rank of Police Officer II or Senior Police Officer.
  2. Performance of duties in an exemplary fashion.
  3. Strong academic credentials or evidence of an earnest effort to obtain a higher degree.
  4. Activity beyond the normal scope of duty; voluntarily engaging in the community affairs of Oxnard is a significant way.

In addition to naming Oxnard’s Police Officer of the Year for 2010, Oxnard police Chief Jeri Williams will present the following awards to police department employees for exemplary service:
  • 2010 Supervisor of the Year
  • 2010 Civilian Employee of the Year
  • 2010 Mothers Against Drunk Driving (M.A.D.D.) Award
  • 2010 Dispatcher of the Year
  • 2010 Chief’s Award of Excellence
  • Medal of Merit
  • 10851 Award (in recognition of stolen vehicle recovery efforts in 2010, presented by the California Highway Patrol and the Automobile Club of Southern California)
  • 2010 Volunteer of the Year/Clancy Nieland Award

PRESS NOTE: The Kiwanis will host one representative from each media outlet for lunch during the awards ceremony. Please contact Scott Hebert to RSVP.

Questions regarding the awards luncheon should be directed to Commander Scott Hebert at or (805) 385-8290.


Press release archive


Recent press releases

»News release - 9/25/2016 - Shooting Victim
- Sep 25, 2016
»News release - 9/23/2016
- Sep 23, 2016
»News release - Woman stabs her boyfriend during argument
- Sep 22, 2016
»News release - Helps Us Identify Fumigation Burglary Suspects
- Sep 22, 2016
»News release - 9/22/2016 Stabbing
- Sep 22, 2016
»News release - Oxnard Police use new DNA Technology to Assist in Homicide Case - 9/20/2016
- Sep 20, 2016
»News release - 9/18/2016
- Sep 18, 2016
»News release - 9/16/2016 Traffic Stop Leads to Arrests for Possession of Handgun and Narcotics
- Sep 16, 2016
»News release - 9/16/2016
- Sep 16, 2016
»News release - Man Barricades Himself in Home After Assaulting Officer
- Sep 15, 2016
   Mar 2011